Art Cities Route
NL FR EN DE
Back to overview

Art Cities Route

332 km - 1116 meters

Who says that the only way to enjoy a cycling trip is to head for the countryside? If you cycle the Art Cities Route, you will pass through Brussels, Leuven, Mechelen, Antwerp, Ghent, Bruges and Ostend. Centuries-old heritage, connected by a network of canals, rivers and old railway tracks, and forming a patchwork quilt of forts, churches, and almost non-stop art. In other words: you cycle through centuries of Flemish history.

You set off from (and return to) the city of your choice. Perhaps you want to start in bustling Brussels or Ostend, that city on the sea. From either you can criss-cross through Flanders, a 332 km route that takes you through our finest cities, along beautiful waterways such as Dijle, Nete and Schelde, and through striking landscapes. Breathe in the atmosphere of the university city of Leuven, discover art city Mechelen and pedal from one surprise to the next. Those cities, by the way, are perfect places to break your journey - plan in a few days to get to know them better.

And don’t worry, between the bustling cities there is enough green to keep anyone happy. Stop to enjoy the Sonian Forest, the Scheldt polders or Bulskampveld Landscape Park, or gaze in wonder as you cycle through the Kalkense Meersen, just outside Ghent.

Photos

Verkeersbord
The Art Cities Route is not yet signposted in the Brussels region. The GPX contains the complete route.

Discover the Art Cities:

Bruges
Ghent
Antwerp
Mechelen
Leuven
Brussels

Route des Villes d’art
NL FR EN DE
Retour à l'aperçu

Route des Villes d’art

332 km - 1116 mètres

Qui a dit qu’un itinéraire cyclable digne de ce nom doit uniquement passer dans la nature ? L’itinéraire Villes d’art vous emmène à travers Bruxelles, Louvain, Malines, Anvers, Gand, Bruges et Ostende. Un patrimoine séculaire relié par un réseau de canaux, rivières et anciennes lignes de chemin de fer et formant une mosaïque de forts, d’églises et d’art à foison. Bref, vous pédalez à travers des siècles d’histoire flamande.

À vous de choisir la ville qui sera votre point de départ (et d’arrivée). Que vous optiez pour Bruxelles l’animée ou Ostende la balnéaire, un parcours de 332 km vous emmène à la découverte des plus belles villes flamandes, le long de paysages époustouflants et splendides voies navigables comme la Dyle, la Nèthe ou encore l’Escaut. Humez l’atmosphère de la ville universitaire de Louvain, découvrez la ville d’art qu’est Malines, et allez d’émerveillement en émerveillement. Ces villes sont parfaites pour faire un break ou même une escapade de plusieurs jours si vous voulez les explorer de manière plus approfondie.

Et rassurez-vous : l’itinéraire alterne entre paysages urbains et champs de houblon. Faites une pause dans la forêt de Soignes, dans les polders de l’Escaut ou dans le parc paysager de Bulskampveld, et laissez-vous émerveiller par les Kalkense Meersen, ces prairies marécageuses situées en périphérie de Gand.

Images

Verkeersbord
La Route des Villes d'Art n'est pas encore balisée en région bruxelloise. Le GPX contient l'itinéraire complet.

Découvrez les villes d'art:

Bruges
Gand
Anvers
Malines
Louvain
Bruxelles